Welcome to the online home of the
Minnesota Percussion Association!

orange box 1


Get all the info for our 2017 competitions!

Read More
orange box 3


See the scores from our 2017 competitions!

Read More
orange box 2


Get the info on our 2017 ensembles, including where they will be competing!

Read More

2017 Day of Percussion Is Ready to Roll!

The 2017 Minnesota Percussion Association Day of Percussion is just around the corner and is bound to be as exciting as ever! It will take place on Saturday, January 7, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Rosemount High School in Rosemount, MN.  

Click here for directions to Rosemount High School.

Click here for the schedule of clinics.

Click here for the full information packet, including descriptions of the clinics, clinician bios, a full schedule, and more information.

The 2017 Day of Percussion will feature:

  • 22 clinics on marching, concert and world percussion
  • Clinicians and performing groups, including:
    • Mark Ford (percussion activities coordinator for the University of North Texas)
    • Amir Oosman and Ralph Nader (BYOS)
    • Daniel Waples (Handpan artist)
    • Minnesota State Mankato Percussion Ensemble
    • MPA Student Leadership Team Drumline 
  • A raffle drawing for various donations received from corporate and local sponsors

Check out videos of three of our headlining acts: Mark Ford; Amir Oosman and Ralph Nader (BYOS); and Daniel Waples.

Registration for the event will start at 8:30 a.m. Members of MPA ensembles are provided free admittance. 

Lunch will be available for purchase in the afternoon. A full meal (Subway sandwich, chips, cookie and a drink) will be $6. Percussion vendors will also be on site selling sticks, mallets, drum pads, and other accessories.  

Questions? E-mail MPA Day of Percussion coordinator Vlad Boz at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Welcome, Winds!

The Minnesota Percussion Association (MPA) and North Star Circuit are excited to announce that MPA will include indoor winds groups starting with the 2017 season!

Please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any questions and for help with registering a winds group for MPA.

MPA Not Posting 2016 Videos

To ensure MPA is in full compliance with copyright-related laws amid an increasingly tough and uncertain environment for performing arts organizations across the country, the Board of Directors has decided to not post or sell videos of 2016 MPA Championships and beyond for now. We are monitoring the situation and will provide an update when available. 

Thank you for your patience!

MPA Mourns the Loss of a Legend

12MPA and the greater percussion community in Minnesota and beyond have lost a legend. Dick Rausch, a long-time instructor of the Rocori High School Drumline and namesake of MPA's Dick Rausch Instructor of the Year award, passed away at age 63 on Nov. 22. He was a teacher, performer, friend, and mentor to so many in the percussion community in Minnesota, though his influence reached far beyond. His impact is impossible to summarize, but this tribute from one of the people who knew him best might come close.

Continue Reading